Logo IS Awards

LSC Education would like to congratulate all those schools whose achievements were recognised at the Independent School Awards 2014, which were held on 13th November at the Nottingham Belfry Hotel in the UK.

The ASpeaker2 4400wards showcased many outstanding achievements made by independent schools across the UK and British International Schools around the world.

The Independent School Awards™ (ISAs) celebrate excellence in the strategic and financial management of independent schools in the UK and overseas.

The judging panel is chaired by Shane Rutter-Jerome, former general secretary of the Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools and former bursar of Cranleigh School.

IS AwardsdohaLSC Education were delighted to attend the event and enjoyed spending the evening with the Principal and Leadership Team from Doha College.

The school was nominated for its success in meeting the huge growth demands in Qatar by opening additional facilities to enable the education of more than 350 local children while maintaining its own British identity.

Edward Clark from LSC Education is pictured here with the Doha College Team.

Awards for 2014

  • The overall Independent School of the Year 2014 Award was presented to The Stephen Perse Foundation, who also took home the Outstanding Strategic Initiative Award.

The Stephen Perse Foundation

In 2007, Perse Girls was a traditional school for 7-18 year old girls, enjoying outstanding academic results, but with a falling roll of 600 students. By reinventing the school and creating a community of learners fit for the 21st century, the Stephen Perse Foundation now has 1,050 learners aged 3-19 across six sites. Academic results are up, and the school has a holistic approach to education based around its own curriculum model. Judges’ comments:“Very impressive turnaround through clear-thinking strategies” and “Deserving of the Independent School of the Year 2014 accolade for its overall vision and momentum”

  • Felicity Taylor, former Headmistress of The Queen's Lower School, Chester, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Felicity Taylor, former headmistress, The Queen's Lower School

“Tireless energy and enthusiasm” and “someone who knows and understands all her pupils.” Felicity Taylor, who retired in September 2013, introduced many initiatives at the school, including community projects, outdoor learning zones and forest skills as she recognised that wholehearted involvement is the key to giving pupils the best learning experience: there aren't many heads of successful academic schools who spent a week jumping in lakes or sleeping under the stars in a wood with their pupils. Judges’ comments: “Extraordinary expansion of non-curricular opportunities” and “She has a clear vision, great energy and enthusiasm”

Other award winners included:

  • Boarding Initiative of the Year:  CATS College Canterbury
  • Outstanding Community Initiative:    Oakham School
  • Outstanding Financial/Commercial Initiative:  St Teresa’s Effingham
  • Best Independent-Maintained School Collaboration: Shrewsbury High School
  • Special Needs Initiative of the Year: St Joseph's Specialist School and College
  • Outstanding Governing Body of the Year:  Bowdon Preparatory School for Girls
  • Education Initiative of the Year: Colfe's School
  • British International School of the Year:  Cambridge House Community College (Valencia)
  • Outstanding Senior Leadership Team of the Year: Brighton College